What’s in Your Wallet? Racism, If You Have a Capital One Credit Card

Louis L. Reed
4 min readJan 12, 2022

After recovering from a recent coronavirus hospitalization, I was online shopping at Bed Bath and Beyond, hoping to take advantage of the post-Christmas sales. I wanted to get my aunt something special for the holiday, even if the gift would arrive late. I loaded my cart with an assortment of lavender, cucumber, and other scented candles when I was stopped short at checkout. Upon entering my Platinum Capital One credit card information, I immediately received the standard billing error message. My method of payment was declined. I tried again; declined. And again; declined. I called Capital One. The reason the card was declined and revoked? “Past legal matters that you were involved in.”

Translation: You have a criminal record and we don’t want your business.

My relationship with Capital One began a few years ago. After 14 years of federal incarceration, I attempted to (re)build my credit, like most people, whether you were incarcerated or not. Upon application, I was granted a secured line of credit for $200, but after consistent on-time payments and a favorable credit score, Capital One increased my line of credit to $3000 — unsecured. I thought I’d proven myself, not only as a “responsible” credit holder but also as someone who could move past a legal…

--

--

Louis L. Reed

#cut50 National Organizer| Forbes Coach| Criminal Justice Reform Strategist| Award-Winning Author| Believer www.louislreed.org